Gov. Abbott Surging Additional Resources to Border Counties Combating Unlawful Immigrants Crisis

"This amended declaration will ensure that Resources & Support are surged where they are needed most." 
– Governor Greg Abbott

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Governor Greg Abbott has issued a revised disaster declaration in response to the Border Crisis, which provides more resources and strategies to combat the ongoing influx of unlawful immigrants. Originally issued in late May for 34 Counties along the Texas and Mexico Border, the updated declaration only includes the 28 Counties that have locally declared a disaster and agreed to partner with the state on its border security efforts — including arresting and detaining people for crimes related to the border crisis. 

After issuing the original Disaster Declaration, the Governor met with sheriffs, police chiefs, county judges, mayors, and District Attorneys from border communities at his Border Security Summit (right,) and asked for their collaboration and partnership to secure the border.

Many county leaders have chosen to participate in this partnership, which is reflected in this amended disaster declaration. Additional counties will be added as local disaster declarations are issued. 

"I am grateful for our local partners in our South Texas and border communities who are willing to work alongside the State to keep Texans safe and secure the border," said Governor Abbott.

"This amended declaration will ensure that resources and support are surged where they are needed most."
Counties included in this disaster declaration are:
  1. Brewster
  2. Brooks
  3. Crockett
  4. Culberson
  5. DeWitt
  6. Dimmit
  7. Edwards
  8. Frio
  9. Goliad
  10. Gonzales
  11. Hudspeth
  12. Jeff Davis
  13. Jim Hogg
  14. Kimble
  15. Kinney
  16. La Salle
  17. Lavaca
  18. Live Oak
  19. Maverick
  20. McMullen
  21. Midland
  22. Pecos
  23. Presidio
  24. Real
  25. Terrell
  26. Uvalde
  27. Val Verde, and
  28. Zapata
Texas Gov. Greg Abbott by N/A is licensed under N/A